The Sidney Prize and Other Prizes

sidney prize

The Sidney Prize is an award for a student from the University of Sydney that demonstrates exceptional proficiency in research and writing in the field of philosophy. The Sidney Prize is a vital part of the University’s cultural life, encouraging and supporting academic engagement in the fields of philosophy and history of science.

The prize is awarded annually to a student enrolled in the major, Philosophy for the best Honours thesis submitted during their first year of study. The prize consists of a monetary award and an honours certificate. The student will be required to submit an oral presentation of their work and may also be asked to submit a written thesis.

This prize is named after Professor Sidney Thomas (1915-2009), who was a member of the Department of Art History from 1961 to 1985. Originally trained in literary studies, Thomas became an expert in art history and was deeply committed to humanistic scholarship. He edited two benchmark publications in this area: The Nature of Art (with John Gassner, 1964) and Images of Man: Selected Readings in Arts and Ideas in Western Civilization (1972).

Students pursuing the major, Philosophy for the prize are expected to demonstrate exceptional proficiency in research and writing in the field. They will typically be enrolled in a senior or advanced/honours level unit of study devoted to the period, or writing an honours thesis on an appropriate topic.

A number of prizes in other areas are available to support and encourage a wide range of activities and interests. These prizes are a great way to reward and recognise individuals, organisations and the communities they work in.

Judith Wright Poetry Prize Shortlists Announced

The Judith Wright Poetry Prize is open to all published poets in the UK or Ireland. The winner will receive a six thousand pound prize and second and third place will each receive two thousand pounds. The winning poem will be published in the autumn 2023 issue of Overland, along with the other three poets on the shortlist.

Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize Awards Confirmed

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an annual competition for an Australian writer. The prize consists of a $5000 prize and publication in Overland. The winners will be selected by a panel of judges, with the winning writer to be announced and read at the closing ceremony in 2023.

There are a number of other prizes that reward students for their work, as well as other members of the University community who have made an impact on society and the world at large. These prizes are a fantastic way to recognise and celebrate excellence, and inspire young people to make positive changes to the world around them.

Industry Prizes

There is a wide range of prizes for students who are in the film industry. These awards are offered to help support a final project or provide industry experience. They are a great way to get started in the industry and give you the skills you need to succeed.