The Sidney Prize

sidney prize

The Sidney Prize is an annual prize for an outstanding undergraduate essay on a subject related to the philosophy of mind or consciousness. It is awarded on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Philosophy. The Prize is funded by a gift from Mr Dennis Balson.

The prize is open to undergraduates enrolled in coursework programs within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of Sydney. Applicants must have submitted their essay to the Faculty in the past year.

This award was established by a donation made in honour of Dr. Neilma Sidney who was a linguistics professor at the University of Sydney from 1975 to 1987. The Prize is intended to encourage and reward the highest standard of written work in the area of linguistics, and to promote academic excellence among students studying the discipline.

1. Background & Eligibility: The prize is based on the merit of an Honours thesis in Philosophy. The student must have completed their thesis in Philosophy within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at a University of Sydney. The thesis must be a significant and original work which has demonstrated an exceptional level of achievement in the field of philosophy and will have an impact on the study of philosophy by students of future generations.

2. Selection criteria: The student must have written an Honours thesis on a topic relating to the Philosophy of mind and/or consciousness which is of sufficient merit. The student must have been impacted by extenuating circumstances during their studies. The Prize is intended to recognise the contribution of these students to the study of the philosophy of mind and/or consciousness, as well as to demonstrate the importance of these topics in contemporary society.

3. The Prize is administered by the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University offers a wide variety of courses in different fields. Each course is specialised and aims to provide an understanding of the various issues that face society, as well as offering a comprehensive knowledge of the subject area. In addition to the core course subjects, each discipline also offers additional specialisations and disciplinary units of study, and a range of elective courses are available in each faculty.

4. The Prize is administered by the School of Literature, Art and Media (LAM).

The LAM is a department which offers courses in English, History, Music, Philosophy, Anthropology and Film and Television Studies. It is a department that offers an excellent education and a high quality of learning. The LAM is an integral part of the University and has many benefits for students, staff and the community in general.

5. The Prize is a national prize.

The Prize is administered by the Australian Catholic University. It is a national award for a research project, and the winner will receive a monetary award of $1500. This will be awarded by the President of the Catholic University to a project that makes an important contribution to research, scholarship and public debate in religion or theology in Australia.