The Sidney Prize at the University of Sydney

The Sidney Prize is one of the top prizes in the world. It is awarded by the national society Phi Beta Kappa for excellence in scholarship, undergraduate teaching, and leadership in service to education. It is named after the distinguished American philosopher and Phi Beta Kappa member Sidney Hook.

The prize is a significant financial award and the privilege of attending the annual meeting of Phi Beta Kappa at the University of Sydney in Australia. The winner will have the opportunity to present their research and receive valuable networking opportunities with peers from around the world. The prize is intended to encourage students to continue their research into their chosen field.

There are a number of other awards and scholarships at the University of Sydney which you can apply for. For example, the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is a competition for young writers that gives away $5,000 to the winner and their story will be published by Overland magazine. Another award is the NSW Veterinary Sciences Postgraduate Scholarship. This is a scholarship that will cover the cost of your PhD fees. It is also worth noting that the university has a number of internal student awards which you can apply for.

For example, there is the Walter Reid Memorial prize which honours a graduate of the University who has shown exceptional research ability in the study of Central European history. There is also the FMH Thesis Excellence Prize which recognises students for the high quality of their thesis. The university also has a number of other student academic and personal achievement awards which you can apply for.

In addition, the university has a number of prize funds which are intended to honour and support specific subjects. These include the Physics Prize which is open to students in the Faculty of Science who have completed units of study CHEM1011/1111 or CHEM1911/1991 in their first year and the James Hamilton prize which is awarded to a student enrolled in the final year who has the best essay with original research (MDP project) in Physiology.

Finally, the university has a prize fund which honours a scientist who promotes “peace with justice”, human rights and non-violence. This year’s prize has been awarded to the black lives matter movement founders Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi. The movement was founded after the acquittal of George Zimmerman in the US over the killing of unarmed black teenager Trayvon Martin. The prize money is intended to be used for promoting science as a career and sparking interest in scientific fields like biology or medicine. It also supports research into new technologies which could benefit humanity. The prize is funded by the City of Sydney.